class="abc_sports-template-default single single-abc_sports postid-248083 custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1.1 vc_responsive"

Denny Hamlin records first win of the year at New Hampshire


(LOUDON, N.H.) — Denny Hamlin held off a late charge by Kyle Larson on Sunday to record his first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series win of the season at the Overton’s 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. It was also the first win of the year for Joe Gibbs racing.

Larson finished just .509 seconds behind Hamlin after starting last in the 39-car field. Larson was scheduled to start in the pole position but just before the start of the race he was demoted because an unapproved part had been found on his car.

Martin Truex Jr., who wound up in the pole and let the race for 137 laps, finished third, with Matt Kenseth in fourth and Kevin Harvick in fifth.

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series heads to Indianapolis Motor Speedway next Sunday for the Brantley Gilbert Big Machine Brickyard 400.

Here are the standings after Sunday’s race:

1) Martin Truex Jr. — 758 points
2) Kyle Larson — 720
3) Kyle Busch — 650
4) Kevin Harvick — 639
5) Denny Hamlin — 589
6) Chase Elliot — 587
7) Jamie McMurray — 572
8) Brad Keselowski — 564
9) Jimmie Johnson — 552
10) Clint Bowyer — 526

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

© 2017 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information