class="post-template-default single single-post postid-310889 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.6 vc_responsive"

USDA Designates 10 Counties in Kansas as Primary Natural Disaster Areas with Assistance to Producers in Colorado

WASHINGTON— The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 10 counties in Kansas as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought. Those counties are:


Ellis Lane Ottawa Scott Wallace
Greeley Lincoln Russell Trego Wichita


Farmers and ranchers in the contiguous counties in Kansas also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties are:


Barton Gove Ness
Clay Graham Osborne
Cloud Hamilton Rooks
Dickinson Kearny Rush
Ellsworth Logan Saline
Finney Mitchell Sherman


Farmers and ranchers in the contiguous counties of Cheyenne, Kiowa, Kit Carson and Prowers in Colorado also qualify for natural disaster assistance.


Qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for the Farm Service Agency’s (FSA’s) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration of May 3, 2018, to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.


Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation ProgramLivestock Forage Disaster ProgramLivestock Indemnity ProgramEmergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information