class="post-template-default single single-post postid-235568 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7 vc_responsive"

Concordia claims third-straight top two GPAC All-Sports finish

Concordia claims third-straight top two GPAC All-Sports finish

SEWARD, Neb. – For the first time in the GPAC era, the Concordia University athletics department has finished in the top two of the GPAC All-Sports Trophy Standings for a third year in a row. Bulldog teams racked up a combined 143.5 points, leading to a second-place finish for the second-straight year. Concordia has claimed the GPAC All-Sports Trophy three times in school history (2003, 2005, 2015).

Three Bulldog teams claimed GPAC regular season championships in 2016-17: head coach Andrew Nicola’s wrestling program, head coach Drew Olson’s women’s basketball program and head coach Ryan Dupic’s baseball program. GPAC tournament titles were also won by head coach Greg Henson’s women’s soccer program, by wrestling and by women’s basketball. Regular-season runner-up finishers were head coach Matt Beisel’s men’s indoor and outdoor track and field teams and head coach Todd LaVelle’s softball squad.

At the close of the winter sports season, Concordia also ranked 18th among all NAIA schools in the 2016-17 Learfield Directors’ Cup standings. The Bulldogs have a chance to make it three-consecutive years with a top 20 national finish in the Learfield Cup. The highest national finish in school history was ninth in 2004-05.

Bulldog teams produced the following national finishes this winter:

  • Men’s Indoor Track & Field – 2nd
  • Women’s Basketball – Semifinalist (ranked 3rd in postseason poll)
  • Women’s Indoor Track & Field – 7th
  • Wrestling – 15th

Concordia all-time GPAC All-Sports Trophy finishes
2016-17 – 2nd
2015-16 – 2nd
2014-15 – 1st
2013-14 – 4th
2012-13 – 6th
2011-12 – 4th
2010-11 – 7th
2009-10 – 6th
2008-09 – 6th
2007-08 – 5th
2006-07 – 5th
2005-06 – 5th
2004-05 – 1st
2003-04 – 3rd
2002-03 – 1st
2001-02 – 2nd
2000-01 – 3rd

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information