class="post-template-default single single-post postid-290952 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5 vc_responsive"

Creighton’s Foster One of 30 Candidates For Citizen Naismith Trophy

Creighton’s Foster One of 30 Candidates For Citizen Naismith Trophy

ATLANTA (February 14, 2018) – Creighton senior guard Marcus Foster is on the list of 30 men’s players competing to receive the 50th Citizen Naismith Trophy. The late season list was announced earlier today by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

From this list, 10 semifinalists will be revealed on Feb. 28, and only those 10 players are eligible for the group of four finalists, which will be released in mid-March. Fans, once again, will be able to vote for their favorite player by visiting between March 19-30 to cast their ballot, and the fan component counts for five percent of the overall final vote. The 50th Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded on April 1 in San Antonio, during the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

“The players on the midseason team have displayed the attributes of what it’ll take to advance into the next round. However, there are still tremendous candidates remaining, and the next two weeks will be intensely competitive,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club.  “We look forward to watching them compete for the 50th Citizen Naismith Trophy, and we are excited to continue our legacy of honoring college basketball’s top players during this celebratory season.”

Foster leads Creighton with 20.3 points per game while shooting 50.5 percent from the field, 44.9 percent from three-point range and 79.7 percent at the line. He’s had 15 games this season of 20+ points, and has scored in double-figures in 58-of-61 games as a Bluejay. Foster recently joined Paul Silas and Doug McDermott as the only Bluejays to score 500 points or more in each of their first two seasons and he ranks among the nation’s active leaders in field goals made, points, three-pointers and double-figure scoring games.

The Wichita Falls, Texas native is seeking to become the second Bluejay in the last five years to win the Naismith Trophy, joining 2013-14 winner Doug McDermott.

“The Citizen Naismith Trophy celebrates the accomplishments of student-athletes who demonstrate through their play the inner drive and passion that mirrors that of our company’s founding members – Better Starts Now,” said Eric Horowitz, managing director U.S. and travel retail, Citizen Watch Company of America, Inc. “These 30 exceptional men have accomplished so much this season and are surely deserving of their spot on this list.”

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information