class="post-template-default single single-post postid-272323 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5 vc_responsive"

GPAC All-Conference Selections Announced

GPAC All-Conference Selections Announced

SIOUX CITY, Iowa – The Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) has announced the 2017 GPAC Football All-Conference selections after being voted on by the conference coaches. Midland University had 12 different players receive the honor on Tuesday.

The Warriors went 6-4 (4-4 GPAC) this season and placed fourth in the final conference standings. Morningside was the regular season champion with a perfect 11-0 (8-0 GPAC) record. Dillon Turner of Dakota Wesleyan was named the Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Caden McDonald of Morningside was name the Defensive Player of the Year while his coach Steve Ryan took home the Coach of the Year distinction.

All-GPAC First Team

Exavier Edwards was named to the team as a kick returner. The senior from Irvine, California averaged 27.6 yards per return with a pair of kickoff returns for touchdowns.

All-GPAC Second Team

Daniel Jahn was named to the second team as an offensive lineman. The sophomore from Omaha anchored the Midland offensive line that averaged 156.3 yards on the ground.

Wyatt Tremayne led the Warriors in tackles this year with 80 total stops from his linebacker position. The junior from Hubbard, Nebraska had six tackles for loss and a fumble recovery.

Bryan McLaughlin also earned second team honors at linebacker for Midland. He was second on the team with 70 tackles. He also had six tackles for loss, including two sacks, and one interception. He is a senior from Elkhorn, Nebraska.

Taylor Syvertsen, a senior from Murrieta, California, was named to the second team at defensive back. He had 27 tackles with a pair of interceptions. Six of his tackles were for a loss with two coming on a quarterback sack. In his final game he also scored on a safety after a blocked punt.

Exavier Edwards also earned honors for his play at defensive back. He was named to the second team as he compiled 37 tackles and two interceptions on the year.

All-GPAC Honorable Mention

Seven other Warriors were named honorable mentions. Malik Dumetz (WR), Hayden Dunn (WR), Alex Boyer (OL), Ashton Ellis (DB), Mikal Coleman (DL), Garry Cannon (RB) and Mike Seawell (WR).

“All of our guys are very deserving of this recognition as thye have demonstrated excellence on a consistent basis,” head coach Jeff Jamrog commented. “They are fierce competitors and play with the kind of passion that make you proud as a coach. Congratulations to each of our all-conference football players.”

© 2017 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information