class="post-template-default single single-post postid-316090 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7 vc_responsive"

Lee, Stewart Earn Iowa’s B1G Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards

Lee, Stewart Earn Iowa’s B1G Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Freshman Spencer Lee (wrestling) and junior Hannah Stewart (women’s basketball) have been selected as Iowa’s 2018 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. The duo was chosen from Iowa’s list of 2017-18 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winners, which had a representative from each varsity sport.

Lee won the 2018 NCAA championship as a true freshman at 125 pounds. The Murrysville, Pennsylvania, native joined the Iowa lineup in January and compiled a 22-2 overall record, earning All-America, Big Ten Freshman of the Year, and Amateur Wrestling News All-Rookie honors.

Stewart played in all 32 games this season, scoring in double figures seven times and netting eight or more points in 17 contests. The Minot, North Dakota, native had her best season as a Hawkeye, registering single-season bests in points (235), rebounds (145), assists (46), blocks (24), steals (35), field goals made (106), and free throws made (23).

The Big Ten first awarded the Outstanding Sportsmanship honor in 2003. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior, were in good academic standing and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information