class="post-template-default single single-post postid-353360 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7 vc_responsive"

Napier named NAIA honorable mention All-American

Napier named NAIA honorable mention All-American
Courtesy/Concordia Athletics.

SEWARD, Neb. – By way of leading all NAIA players in tackles, Concordia sophomore Lane Napier made a strong case for All-America honors. On Thursday (Dec. 13), the NAIA announced Napier as an honorable mention All-America selection. The NAIA All-America teams differ from the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) list with the addition of an honorable mention team this season. In total, 106 student-athletes were honored over the three teams.

A two-time first team All-GPAC selection, Napier led the nation with 142 tackles (average of 14.2 per game). That figure is a program GPAC era (2000-present) record. The David City, Neb., native also paced the team in tackles for loss (12.5) and sacks (four). Napier added a forced fumble and a blocked extra point. Napier notched double figures in tackles eight times this season with a high of 22 at Morningside. After making 21 tackles in the win at Jamestown, Napier picked up the GPAC Defensive Player of the Week award. He has already recorded 239 tackles through his first 20 career collegiate games.

Said head coach Patrick Daberkow, “I think Lane Napier is the best linebacker in the country. You can make a statistical case and then you put the film on and it’s case closed. I really believe he’s that type of player. We’ve had GPAC Defensive Players of the Year before here. I think that recognition will come eventually for him. What was great about that position group was the depth. We have probably six guys who could have started for us.”

The Bulldog football program has had a representative on the defensive side of the ball earn some form of All-America recognition in four-straight seasons and in five out of the last six. Recent All-Americans include Tarence Roby (2017), Trey Barnes (2015, 2016) and Darnell Woods (2013).


2018 – Lane Napier, linebacker (honorable mention – NAIA)

2017 – Tarence Roby, defensive back (first team – Associated Press; second team – AFCA)

2016 – Trey Barnes, defensive line (first team)

2015 – Trey Barnes, defensive line (second team)

2013 – Darnell Woods, safety (first team)

2012 – Derek Blessing, punt returner (first team – Beyond Sports Network)

2012 – Kenny Zoeller, kicker (first team)

2007 – JaMaine Lewis, running back (second team – Victory Sports Network)

2007 – Jeff Neujahr, kick/punt returner (honorable mention – Victory Sports Network)

2006 – Jeff Neujahr, kick/punt returner (honorable mention – Victory Sports Network)

2004 – Matthew Egger, punter

2002 – Sean Stewart, safety (second team)

2001 – Erik DeHaven, linebacker

2001 – Sean Stewart, safety (honorable mention)

2001 – Ross Wurdeman, tight end (first team)

2000 – Drew Ekart, defensive back (honorable mention)

2000 – Sean Stewart, safety (honorable mention)

2000 – Ross Wurdeman, tight end (first team)

1996 – Ed McLaughlin, offensive line (honorable mention)

1995 – Mike Hoernemann, linebacker (honorable mention)

1994 – Travis Soukup, tight end/punter (first team)

1984 – Kahlil King, safety (first team)

1984 – Cleve Wester, running back

1982 – Gary Pomerenke, defensive line (first team)

1981 – Gary Pomerenke, defensive line (second team)

1965 – Dennis Oetting, lineman (honorable mention)

1964 – Bob Oetting, lineman

1961 – Larry Oetting, lineman

1959 – John Suhr, quarterback/safety/punter

1956 – Gary Seevers, running back

1955 – Gary Seevers, running back

© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information