Tag Archives: Senate Ag Committee

The Senate Agriculture Committee will consider three Department of Agriculture nominations later this month. The Committee will consider the nominations of Mindy Brashears, Naomi Earp, and Scott Hutchins.

The hearing was announced by Chairman Pat Roberts and ranking Democrat Debbie Stabenow. Brashears, of Texas, is nominated to be Under Secretary of Agriculture for Food Safety, while Earp, of Maryland, is nominated to be an Assistant Secretary of Agriculture for Civil Rights. Finally,  Hutchins, of Indiana, is nominated to be Under Secretary of Agriculture for Research, Education and Economics. Brashears is a current Texas Tech professor, while Earp has once served as the chair of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, appointed by then-President George W. Bush. And, Hutchins, an entomologist, is a Corteva employee.

The committee must consider and approve the nominations that would then be considered by the full Senate. The hearing is scheduled for Wednesday, November 28th.