class="post-template-default single single-post postid-460615 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0 vc_responsive"

Primary Elections are Tuesday

Primary Elections are Tuesday

Nebraska’s Primary Elections will be held on Tuesday. In Cuming County, a primary is needed for just two of the County Supervisors districts. Republican voters in District 2 will decide between incumbent John Ross or Maynard Munderloh. Democratic voters in District 4 will vote for incumbent Clarence Tichota or Roy Liermann. The winners of both of the primaries will be unchallenged in the General Election.

Area voters will decide who will replace Rachel Wise of Oakland as the District 3 representative on the State Board of Education. Candidates are Patti Gubbels of Norfolk and Mike Goos of Columbus. Wise decided not to seek re-election. For the Nebraska Legislature seat in District 17, which covers Wayne, Thurston and Dakota Counties, voters will choose between incumbent Joni Albrecht and Sheryl Lindau. Dodge County voters will decide on either District 15 incumbent Lynne Walz or David Rogers. Mike Flood is running unopposed in District 19 which covers Madison and northwest Stanton Counties.

There aren’t a lot of other local races to talk about. Candidates who filed for City Council races in West Point and Wisner will automatically move on to the general election in November. Additionally, those who filed for the Board of Education for West Point, Bancroft-Rosalie and Wisner-Pilger will automatically move on.

A number of tax levy overrides are on the ballot for Cuming County townships during Tuesday’s Primary. The St. Charles, Elkhorn, Garfield and Grant townships are all seeking an override of the levy limit that was set by the county board. The levy limit is currently 12 cents per every $100 of taxable value. Grant and Elkhorn townships are wanting to levy a property tax not to exceed 22 centers per $100. St. Charles is seeking one not to exceed 26 cents and Garfield is seeking a levy not to exceed 12 cents. Additionally, the Wisner Rural Fire District has a ballot measure to levy a property tax not to exceed 5 cents per $100 of taxable valuation.

The City of Tekamah has a proposition on the Burt County ballot. Proposition 1 will ask voters whether or not the City of Tekamah should purchase the old Tiger Bowl building, located at 141 S. 13th St., for a price up to $35,000 without the issuance of bonds to finance the purchase. A yes vote will result in the purchase of the property.

Voters will have a say on who represents them in Washington. In Congress, District 1 incumbent Jeff Fortenberry is unopposed in the Republican ticket, but faces Democratic competition from Kate Bolz and Babs Ramsey. For District 3, Incumbent Adrian Smith faces four other candidates on the Republican ticket, and Mark Ellworth Jr. is the lone Democrat. And for the U.S. Senate, Republican incumbent Ben Sasse has competition from Matt Innis and seven Democratic candidates. Nationally, the office of the President will be voted on as well.

© 2020 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information