class="post-template-default single single-post postid-402543 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.5 vc_responsive"

(AUDIO) GACC Volleyball looking to be improved from last year

(AUDIO) GACC Volleyball looking to be improved from last year

Team: Guardian Angels Central Catholic

Mascot: Bluejays

Colors: Blue and White

Class: C-2

Head Coach: Kate Hagemann

2018 record: 12-16

Returning Starters: N/A

The GACC Volleyball Team looks to improve upon last year’s 12-16 record. Head Coach Kate Hagemann says the Bluejays lost a few girls from last year.

“Last year we graduated two seniors. So Ally Plagge was one of our back row players, and Angela Jansen played the right side for us. So beyond those two and then also Brandi Doernemann was one of our varsity players who will not be back this year due to she tore her ACL last year during basketball season.”

Hagemann says everyone else returns with a strong group of incoming players.

Key returners include Brooklyn Bailey, Evelyn Wooldrik, Erica Engelmeyer, Hanna Knobbe, Megan Plagge, Meghan Brunsing, Reece Snodgrass, and Sophia Hass.

GACC opens up the season at home on August 29th against David City Aquinas.

“Oh it’ll be a great match and a great way to start the year. It’s kind of a different schedule for us. We almost always started our year with the Wisner/Pender Northeast Nebraska Classic. But just with the change in the Volleyball schedule this year we moved a couple of duals ahead of that,” Hagemann said.

Hagemann says the Bluejays lost in five sets to the Monarchs in David City last year.

She adds consistency is a key again this season just like it was last year.

GACC lost a lot of five set matches last year, and I get the sense that the Bluejays are very hungry, determined, and motivated to turn those losses into wins this year.

2019 GACC Bluejays Volleyball Schedule:

Thursday, Aug 22, 2019
Jamboree 6:00PM Away vs. Wisner-Pilger Wisner-Pilger High School
Thursday, Aug 29, 2019
Match 7:30PM Aquinas Catholic Guardian Angels Central Catholic School
Tuesday, Sep 3, 2019
Match 7:30PM Norfolk Catholic Guardian Angels Central Catholic School
Thursday, Sep 5, 2019
Tournament TBD Away vs. TBA Wisner-Pilger High School
Saturday, Sep 7, 2019
Tournament TBD Away vs. TBA,
Wisner-Pilger Wisner-Pilger High School
Tuesday, Sep 10, 2019
Match 7:30PM Away vs. Humphrey Lindsey, NE
Thursday, Sep 12, 2019
Match 7:30PM Boone Central Guardian Angels Central Catholic School
Tuesday, Sep 17, 2019
Match 7:30PM Wayne Guardian Angels Central Catholic School
Thursday, Sep 19, 2019
Match 6:30PM Away vs. O’Neill O’Neill High School
Tuesday, Sep 24, 2019
Match 7:15PM Away vs. Homer Homer High School
Thursday, Sep 26, 2019
Triangular 5:30PM Away vs. Arlington,
Oakland Craig Arlington High School
Tuesday, Oct 1, 2019
Match 7:00PM Away vs. Bishop Neumann Bishop Neumann High School
Thursday, Oct 3, 2019
Match 7:30PM Away vs. Hartington Cedar Catholic Hartington Cedar Catholic High School
Tuesday, Oct 8, 2019
Match 7:30PM Away vs. Battle Creek Battle Creek High School
Thursday, Oct 10, 2019
Triangular 5:00PM Away vs. Wisner-Pilger,
Lutheran High Northeast Wisner-Pilger High School
Tuesday, Oct 15, 2019
Match 7:30PM Pierce Guardian Angels Central Catholic School
Thursday, Oct 17, 2019
Match 7:30PM Crofton Guardian Angels Central Catholic School
Monday, Oct 21, 2019
Conference Tournament TBD Away vs. TBA,
TBA
Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019
Conference Tournament TBD Away vs. TBA,
TBA
Thursday, Oct 24, 2019

Click here to listen to Interview with Coach Hagemann 

© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information
Share:
Comments