class="post-template-default single single-post postid-473934 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0 vc_responsive"

Iowa’s LaPorta named to Mackey Award Watch List

Iowa’s LaPorta named to Mackey Award Watch List

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa sophomore tight end Sam LaPorta has been named to the 2020 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. LaPorta, a Highland, Illinois, native, is one of only three sophomores named to the 36-player watch list.

Presented annually by the Friends of John Mackey, the award goes to the nation’s most outstanding tight end.

LaPorta (6-foot-4, 250-pounds) saw action as a true freshman in 2019, recording 15 receptions for 188 yards. LaPorta started and recorded a career-best six receptions (44 yards) in Iowa’s Holiday bowl victory over #22 USC.

T.J. Hockenson won the 2018 John Mackey award, becoming the second Hawkeye (Dallas Clark, 2002) to do so. Noah Fant was a semifinalist in 2018, joining Allen Reisner (2010) and Tony Moeaki (2009) as semifinalists.

Established in 2000, the award is named after Syracuse tight end, five-time Pro Bowl selection, and NFL Hall of Famer John Mackey.

Iowa’s adjusted 2020 Big Ten Conference schedule is expected to be announced in the coming weeks. For ticket information visit

© 2020 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information