class="post-template-default single single-post postid-440140 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1 vc_responsive"

Joens Makes Cheryl Miller Award Top 10

Joens Makes Cheryl Miller Award Top 10

ATLANTA – Iowa State women’s basketball sophomore Ashley Joens was named to the Cheryl Miller Award Top 10, the WBCA announced today. The Cheryl Miller Award honors the nation’s top small forward.

Joens has had a tremendous start to her sophomore campaign, averaging 21.3 points and 10.5 rebounds per game. She is the only player in the nation averaging 20.0 points and 10.0 rebounds per game. She has been a double-double machine this season, collecting 13 double-doubles on the season. Joens has been named Big 12 Player of the Week five times, while no other Big 12 player has claimed the honor more than twice. She was also named to the Naismith Trophy Midseason Top 30, which honors the nation’s top player.

Joens is one of just two Big 12 players to make the list, joining OSU’s Vivian Gray. Joens one of just two sophomores to make the list and XX players to also be named to the Naismith Midseason Top-30.

Last season, Iowa State’s own Bridget Carleton was honored as the Cheryl Miller Award winner. Carleton was just the second-ever winner of the award and the first for Iowa State.

The winner of the 2020 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five.

© 2020 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information