class="post-template-default single single-post postid-435971 single-format-standard custom-background group-blog header-image full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1 vc_responsive"

Morningside hires new Volleyball and Women’s Lacrosse Coaches

Morningside hires new Volleyball and Women’s Lacrosse Coaches

Morningside College athletic director Tim Jager has announced coaching hirings in women’s lacrosse and women’s volleyball.

Previously the head coach at NJCAA Northeastern Junior College in Sterling, Colo., new Mustangs’ head women’s volleyball coach Jessica Squier was named Region IX coach of the year from 2016-2018 and NJCAA District B coach of the year for the 2018 and 2019 campaigns.  She led the Plainswomen to NJCAA Region IX titles the last two seasons after claiming the runner-up title the prior six seasons.

Squier will be a familiar face to some on campus, as she, then Jessica Tjaden, was a Great Plains Athletic Conference first-team all-conference and NAIA third-team All-American setter for the Mustangs in 2009.  She tallied 1,569 assists in her only season in a Mustang uniform before transitioning to a coaching role for the 2010 season.

“Being able to come back and represent Morningside in the head volleyball coach capacity is very exciting and rewarding,” remarked the Mustangs’ new head coach. “I’m beyond grateful for this opportunity to lead and support current and future Morningside volleyball student-athletes.”

Jager also announced that Caitlyn St. Marie has joined the Mside lacrosse staff. She will serve as an assistant coach this year and move into the head coaching role next season for the women’s program.

St. Marie, who earned her Bachelor of Arts in Kinesiology – Teaching Concentration from Cornell College of Iowa in May 2018, previously served as an assistant coach at William Penn University from January 2019 to present as they prepared for their inaugural season this spring. During her playing days for the Rams, she was a team captain and a member of the student-athlete advisory committee.

© 2020 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information